FBI Director Christopher Wray Confirmed, Five Democrats Vote No

Christopher Wray / Getty
• August 1, 2017 6:12 pm


Christopher Wray was confirmed as director of the FBI on Tuesday almost unanimously, save for the historic no votes of five Democratic senators.

The Senate confirmed Wray late in the afternoon by a vote of 92-5. Among those voting against him were rumored Democratic presidential hopefuls Sens. Elizabeth Warren (Mass.) and Kirsten Gillibrand (N.Y.).

Also voting no were Sens. Ed Markey (Mass.), Jeff Merkley (Ore.), and Ron Wyden (Ore.).

Wray was nominated to the position after President Donald Trump fired FBI director James Comey in May. He immediately earned praise from Senate Democrats, including from Sen. Al Franken (D., Minn.), who complimented Wray during his confirmation hearing.

"You've come here at a hard time. This is under very extraordinary circumstances, and I thank you for your willingness to take on this job, and looking around, I'm feeling that you've had a good hearing today, and best of luck to you," Franken said to Wray at the time.

Wray is only the second FBI director since 1973 to have his nomination opposed by any senators. Former FBI Director James Comey received a single no vote from Sen. Rand Paul (R., Ky.).

Following the vote, Senate Judiciary Committee chairman Chuck Grassley (R., Iowa), who is responsible for an inquiry into Russian meddling in the 2016 election, said that he looks forward to Wray cooperating with congressional oversight.

"The good work of the FBI has been overshadowed recently by controversies, but I hope this confirmation turns the page and begins a new, shining chapter for out nation's leading law enforcement agency," Grassley wrote.

Published under: Christopher Wray, FBI, Senate