The Magnificent Seven

Meet the Democrats who want to investigate Benghazi

A gutted U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya, after Sept. 11, 2012, attack / AP


Seven House Democrats voted with Republicans to establish a select committee that will investigate the 2012 terrorist attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya, the Hill reports.

The seven Democrats, six of whom face tough reelection races this year, are:

  • Ron Barber (Ariz.)
  • John Barrow (Ga.)
  • Mike McIntyre (N.C.)
  • Patrick Murphy (Fla.)
  • Collin Peterson (Minn.)
  • Nick Rahall (W.Va.)
  • Kyrsten Sinema (Ariz.)

According to the Hill:

McIntyre, who frequently crosses party lines on key votes, is retiring.

Meanwhile, Barber, Barrow, Murphy, Peterson and Rahall represent districts that voted for Mitt Romney for president in 2012.

All except Sinema also voted to hold former Internal Revenue Service official Lois Lerner in contempt of Congress on Wednesday.

Sinema said after the vote Thursday that the committee was "a good idea."