2020 Man of the Year: Vanderbilt Kicking Team

Vanderbilt's winless football team made history last month, becoming the first major conference team to record a point scored by a non-male player in a humiliating 42-17 loss to the University of Tennessee.

Thanks to the commendable efforts of long snapper Scott Meyer, punter/holder Harrison Smith, starting kicker Pierson Cooke, special teams coordinator Devin Fitzsimmons, special teams quality control coach Ken Amato, special teams graduate assistant Joel Parker, and interim head coach Todd Fitch, the Commodores squad secured its place in the history books.

Sarah Fuller, the team's extra-point specialist, insisted on keeping the football used during the historic play. However, because Fuller kicked two extra points in the crushing defeat, the second ball will be showcased at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

Cooke and Smith, meanwhile, also delivered respectable kicking performances against the Volunteers. Cooke was one for two on field-goal attempts, including a successful effort from 39 yards, while Smith recorded nine punts, including a 56-yarder that was downed at the opponent's 14-yard line.

Meyer, the team's long snapper, also performed admirably—as one would expect from a player who transferred from Alabama after winning a national title in 2017-18. Meyer completed the historic snap two years after snapping an epic selfie with President Donald J. Trump at the White House.

It's unclear how much credit Trump deserves for helping Vanderbilt achieve this milestone in gender equality. Given the remarkable sports-related feats accomplished on Trump's watch, including the U.S. women's soccer team's inspiring World Cup victory in 2019, his influence should not be discounted.

Published under: Men of the Year