Here Are All 27 Democrats Who Voted Against Protecting SCOTUS Judges

Original "Squad" members Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D., N.Y.), Ayanna Pressley (D., Mass.), and Rashida Tlaib (D., Mich.) / Getty Images
June 14, 2022

Supreme Court justices have in the past few weeks faced a thwarted assassination attempt, tense protests outside their homes, and death threats. Yet some Democrats in Congress don't think they need extra security.

The Senate in May unanimously passed a bill to provide armed security for the families of Supreme Court justices following the leak of a draft opinion that would overturn Roe v. Wade. House Democrats responded by stalling the bill for more than a month, even as leftist groups drafted battle plans to shut down the Supreme Court and an assassin traveled across the country to murder Justice Brett Kavanaugh.

Democrats finally gave in on Tuesday and brought the bill to the House floor. The vote was 396 to 27. All "nos" were Democrats. Here are their names:

1. Rep. Joyce Beatty (D., Ohio)

2. Rep. Jamaal Bowman (D., N.Y.)

3. Rep. Cori Bush (D., Mo.)

4. Rep. Veronica Escobar (D., Texas)

5. Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D., N.Y.)

6. Rep. Chuy Garcia (D., Ill.)

7. Rep. Sylvia Garcia (D., Texas)

8. Rep. Josh Gottheimer (D., N.J.)

9. Rep. Raúl Grijalva (D., Ariz.)

10. Rep. Steven Horsford (D., Nev.)

11. Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D., Wash.)

12. Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D., Mich.)

13. Rep. Barbara Lee (D., Calif.)

14. Rep. Tom Malinowski (D., N.J.)

15. Rep. Marie Newman (D., Ill.)

16. Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D., N.Y.)

17. Rep. Bill Pascrell (D., N.J.)

18. Rep. Donald Payne (D., N.J.)

19. Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D., Colo.)

20. Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D., Mass.)

21. Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D., N.J.)

22. Rep. Albio Sires (D., N.J.)

23. Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D., Mich.)

24. Rep. Norma Torres (D., Calif.)

25. Rep. Nydia Velázquez (D., N.Y.)

26. Rep. Maxine Waters (D., Calif.)

27. Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D., N.J.)

Update 5:06 p.m.: This piece has been updated to correct Rep. Mikie Sherrill's state. She represents New Jersey, not Virginia.